About the College Theology Society

College Theology Society Board Members

The College Theology Society is a professional association of college and university professors. Founded in 1954 as a Roman Catholic organization of lay and religious teachers of undergraduate theology, the CTS today has a membership of over 900 college and university professors throughout the United States, Canada, and Europe. While maintaining its roots in the Roman Catholic tradition, the Society is increasingly ecumenical in its membership and concerns.

CTS provides opportunities to:

  • keep abreast of current activities in the academic study of religion,
  • investigate the relationship of theology/religious studies to other academic disciplines and the place of religion in the total college curriculum,
  • discuss and evaluate ways of teaching theology/religious studies effectively,
  • promote the development of programs which are genuinely intellectual, value oriented, and realistically designed to meet students' needs.

The CTS Constitution is available in PDF format. 

Click this link: CTS Constitution 2015

CTS Policy and Procedures Manual of the Board of Directors is available in PDF format. Click this link: CTS Policy and Procedures Manual of the Board of Directors 2017

  • William Portier, President
  • William Clark, Vice President 
  • Shannon Schrein, President-Elect
  • Stephen Okey, Treasurer
  • Nicholas Rademacher, Secretary (Membership or Technical Support), 610-902-8419, Radnor, PA
  • William Collinge, Chairperson & Editor of Research & Publications 
  • David Gentry-Akin, Executive Director, National Conventions 
  • Dana Dillon, Executive Coordinator of Digital Media
  • Karen Enriquez, Board Member
  • Brian Doyle, Board Member
  • Andrew Getz, Board Member 
  • Elena Procario-Foley, Editor, Horizons
  • Mara Brecht, Board Member
  • Susie Paulik Babka, Board Member
  • Jason King, Board Member
Many thanks to those who have recently completed service on the Board: past President Sandra Yocum, outgoing treasurer Brian Flanagan, outgoing Horizons editor Anthony Godzieba, and outgoing members Julie Hanlon Rubio and Reid Locklin. We are grateful for your work and insight!

The College Theology Society is a registered, non-profit professional society and a Related Scholarly Organization of the American Academy of Religion.

Email: secretary@collegetheology.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software